Regional Governing Board (RGB)

Region V Systems is governed by a Regional Governing Board (RGB), a local unit of government organized under the Inter-local Cooperation Act. Its authority is based on Nebraska Revised Statute §71-801 through §71-818 (Nebraska Behavioral Health Services Act, the Inter-local Agreement) and the Board’s bylaws. The Act outlines the Roles and Responsibilities for the RGB.

The RGB consists of elected officials, county commissioners or supervisors, one from each of the 16 counties in the region. These individuals represent their county and participate in the decision making of the board.

The RGB is by statute responsible for the development and coordination of both adult and children’s publicly funded behavioral health services within the region. The RGB appoints a regional administrator who is responsible for the administration and management of Region V Systems.

The RGB also appoints a Behavioral Health Advisory Committee (BHAC) which consists of 15 to 20 members with diverse cultural, urban, and rural characteristics, including consumers, providers, law enforcement, public schools, behavioral health professionals, faith-based organizations, the legal system, youth, probation, aging programs, and other community systems. The role of the BHAC is to provide input and feedback, and make recommendations to the RGB regarding the provision of coordinated and comprehensive services within Region V Systems to ensure the development of a system that best meets the needs of consumers. Its roles and responsibilities are outlined in the Nebraska Behavioral Health Services Act.

RGB Roles and Responsibilities

RGB By-Laws 

RGB Meeting Schedule FY 18-19

RGB Agendas and Minutes

FY 18-19

RGB Agenda 3-11-19
RGB Agenda 2-11-19 (Cancelled)
RGB Agenda 11-5-18
RGB Agenda 9-10-18

Minutes (PDF)
RGB Minutes 3-11-19
RGB Minutes 11-5-18
RGB Minutes 9-10-18

RGB Members

Butler County – Greg Janak (Vice Chair)*
Fillmore County – Kenny Harre
Gage County – Dennis Byars (Chair)*
Jefferson County – Gale Pohlmann
Johnson County – Jim Erickson
Lancaster County – Jennifer Brinkman (Secretary)*
Nemaha County – Larry Holtzman
Otoe County – Dean Speth
Pawnee County – Jan Lang
Polk County – Jerry Westring
Richardson County – John Caverzagie
Saline County – Janet Henning
Saunders County – Doris Karloff (Treasurer)*
Seward County – Ken Schmieding
Thayer County – Dean Krueger
York County – Bill Bamesberger

* Denotes Executive Committee